2022 Hybrid IPCC Symposium

The 18th Annual International Pachyonychia Congenita Consortium (IPCC) Symposium

Wednesday, May 18, 2022

8am-12pm PDT
(9am-1pm MDT, 10am-2pm CDT, 11am-3pm EDT, 4pm-8pm UK, 5pm-9pm France, 6pm-10pm Israel)

To be held in person with the Society for Investigative Dermatology (SID) Annual Meeting at the Oregon Convention Center AND virtually through Zoom.

All researchers, clinicians, and industry representatives interested in PC (and other rare skin conditions with PPK) are invited to join at no cost.

Please contact us at info@pachyonychia.org with questions.

For those planning to attend in person:

  • PC Project is hosting a dinner Tuesday, May 17th (the night before the meeting) for any interested attendees. We will contact you with details once you have registered.
  • The SID is requiring proof of full COVID-19 vaccination (plus booster) for admittance to ALL SID in-person meetings and events.
  • The headquarter hotel for the 2022 SID Annual Meeting is the Hyatt Regency Portland at the Oregon Convention Center. CLICK HERE to reserve your hotel room at the Hyatt Regency Portland. 

IPCC Symposium Program

CLICK HERE for the full program with abstracts and bios of the presenters.

Leading the way to a cure: Basic research track
Chair: C. David Hansen, MD

8:00 AM PDT

Welcome
Footprints: On our way to a cure through the power of the IPCC and the International PC Research Registry

Janice N. Schwartz, BA
Executive Director, Pachyonychia Congenita Project

8:15 AM PDT

PPKs: Gluing the pieces together

Eli Sprecher, MD, PhD
Chair, Division of Dermatology, Deputy Director General for R&D and Innovation, Tel Aviv Sourasky Medical Center, Frederick Reiss Professor of Dermatology, Sackler Faculty of Medicine, Tel Aviv University; IPCC Chair

8:30 AM PDT

Mouse models for pachyonychia congenita and palmoplantar keratoderma

Pierre A. Coulombe, PhD
G. Carl Huber Professor and Chair, Department of Cell & Developmental Biology, University of Michigan Medical School

8:45 AM PDT

Impact on daily plantar pain and activity levels in pachyonychia congenita measured through a wristband activity tracker

Julianne M. Falotico, BA
Renaissance School of Medicine at Stony Brook University

&

Shari R. Lipner, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Clinical Dermatology, Director, Nail Division, Weill Cornell Medicine

8:55 AM PDT

PPK and cysts

Edel O’Toole MD, PhD, FRCPI, FRCP
Professor of Molecular Dermatology and Centre Lead, Centre for Cell Biology and Cutaneous Research, Blizard Institute, Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, Queen Mary University of London

&

Neil Rajan, MD, PhD
Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant Dermatologist, Translational and Clinical Research Institute, Newcastle University

9:10 AM PDT

PPK syndromes: Focus on iRhom2 and tylosis with oesophageal cancer

David P. Kelsell, PhD
Blizard Institute, Faculty of Medicine and Dentistry, Queen Mary University of London

9:25 AM PDT

Lysosomal function in pachyonychia congenita pathogenesis

Nicole Schwarz, PhD
RWTH Aachen University, Institute of Molecular and Cellular Anatomy

9:40 AM PDT

Probing the functional link between pachyonychia congenita-associated keratins and cell mechanics

Benjamin A. Nanes, MD, PhD
Instructor of Dermatology University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

9:55 AM PDT

Pain mechanisms in palmoplantar keratodermas

Michael Caterina, MD, PhD
Department of Neurosurgery, Johns Hopkins School of Medicine

10:10 AM PDT Break

Finding the way to a cure: Clinical research track
Chair: Robyn Hickerson, PhD

10:15 AM PDT

Topical erlotinib as a new approach for treating keratinopathies

Amy Paller, MD
Walter J. Hamlin Professor and Chair of Dermatology and Professor of Pediatrics; Director, Skin Biology and Diseases Resource-based Center, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

&

Bethany E. Perez White, PhD
Assistant Professor, Department of Dermatology, Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University

10:35 AM PDT

Systemic erlotinib for PPK

Alain Hovnanian, MD, PhD
Professor of Genetics and Dermatology, INSERM, Imagine Institute for Genetic Diseases, Necker Hospital for Sick Children, Paris University

10:50 AM PDT

PC Project and Palvella Therapeutics collaboration: Update on QTORIN Rapamycin development program for pachyonychia congenita

Wes Kaupinen, MBA
Founder and CEO, Palvella Therapeutics

11:05 AM PDT

The Feldan Shuttle: Leading the future of intracellular delivery

Vincent Ménard, PhD, MBA, CFA
VP Finance & Business Development, Feldan Therapeutics

11:20 AM PDT

Development of topical siRNA formulations for treatment of genetic skin disorders including PC

Roger Kaspar, PhD
Founder and CEO, Ayni Therapeutics

&

Shak Lakhani
Co-founder and CEO, Avro Life Science

11:35 AM PDT

Toward a chemical compound therapy for EBS

Thomas M. Magin, PhD
Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology, University of Leipzig, Institute of Biology

11:50 AM PDT

Discussion/wrap up

C. David Hansen, MD
Dermatology Professor, University of Utah and PI of the International Pachyonychia Congenita Research Registry

12:00 PM PDT Lunch for pre-registered in-person attendees

12:10 PM PDT
PC Project’s Medical and Scientific Advisory Board (MSAB) Meeting
Chair: Eli Sprecher, MD, PhD

PC News and Events

Click here for PC Project News and Events webpage which includes announcements of upcoming events, important news information as well as links to all PC Patient NewsBrief issues and IPCC Newsletter issues.
 
sb_featlink_patientstories
PC Patient Registry
Learn why this international registry of PC patients is so crucial to the worldwide efforts to find treatments and a cure for PC