2022 Virtual PC Patient Support Meeting

STRONGER TOGETHER

Date: Saturday, November 19, 2022
Time: 8am-12pm MT(10am-2pm ET, 3pm-7pm UK, 4pm-8pm France, 5pm-9pm Israel)

The PC community came together for a few hours of presentations, discussions, and a medical and scientific panel to answer questions. The meeting was free and held virtually in a Zoom meeting format with over 87 attendees.

The theme this year is “Stronger Together.” With our community of patients, scientists, physicians, and industry representatives working together, we make a powerful team! And together, we can accomplish our mission of connecting patients, empowering research, and finding treatments and ultimately a cure for PC.

The Wordly Translation App for Zoom was used for those non-English speakers so they could listen to and/or read the spoken words in one of 20 different languages during the meeting.

VIRTUAL PC MEETING PROGRAMClick here to download a pdf copy of the program.

TimeTitle & Presenter
8:00 amWelcome and Update from PC Project
Janice Schwartz, Executive Director, PC Project
8:20 amPC Basics and Genetics of PC
Robyn Hickerson, PhD, University of Dundee and Ten Bio
8:35 amPain and PC with discussion
Randy Gilliland, PhD, Intermountain Utah Valley Pain Management
9:00 amStronger Together with discussion
Jack Padovano, Chair PC Board of Trustees
9:20 amPC Research Overview
Edel O’Toole, MD, PhD, FRCPI, FRCP, Queen Mary University of London
9:35 amExploring Erlotinib as a Treatment for PC
Alain Hovnanian, MD, PhD, Imagine Institute, Paris University
9:45 amBotulinum Injections as a Treatment for PC
Ofir Artzi, MD, Tel Aviv Medical Center
9:55 amBREAK
10:00 amGroup Photo
10:05 amQTORIN™ Topical Rapamycin 3.9% Clinical Trial Update
Tracy Funk, MD, Oregon Health and Science University
10:20 amPC Medical & Scientific Question and Answer Panel
Moderator: David Hansen, MD, University of Utah
Panel: Eli Sprecher, MD, PhD; Alain Hovnanian, MD, PhD; Al Bravo, DPM;
Tracy Funk, MD; Roger Kaspar, PhD; Benjamin Nanes, MD; Edel O’Toole, MD, PhD
11:10 amBreakout Groups According to PC Types or Language
K6a Group: Roseann McGrath
K6b, K6c, and K17 Group: Al Bravo and Helaine Alessio
K16 Group: Kate Fairbrother and Tom Baker
French Speaking Group: Sylvie Potier
Spanish Speaking Group: Pamela Ibanez
11:55 amClosing Remarks
Janice Schwartz, Executive Director, PC Project

 

A 5 minute slide show for the break.

Quotes from fellow PCers who have attended past PC Patient Support Meetings.

PC News and Events

Click here for PC Project News and Events webpage which includes announcements of upcoming events, important news information as well as links to all PC Patient NewsBrief issues and IPCC Newsletter issues.
 
sb_featlink_patientstories
PC Patient Registry
Learn why this international registry of PC patients is so crucial to the worldwide efforts to find treatments and a cure for PC